News
News from the BioCity Campus

BellaSeno starts clinical trials for resorbable breast implants

BellaSeno GmbH, a Leipzig-based medical technology company developing resorbable scaffolds using additive manufacturing technologies, today announced the start of two clinical trials in Australia. It's about implants, the remedy for funnel chest (pectus excavatum) create or replace silicone implants.

Ten patients are expected to participate in the first study pectus excavatum (pectus excavatum), a common congenital chest wall deformity where the sternum is sunken into the rib cage. Director of studies is Dr. Michael Wagels, Director of the Herston Biofabrication Institute (HBI), Consultant in Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery at Princess Alexandra Hospital, Director of the Australian Center for Complex Integrated Surgical Solutions (ACCISS) and Senior Lecturer at the University of Queensland. BellaSeno published initial human data back in 2021 showing that the implant is capable of repairing a defect in the pectus excavatum to conceal, which cannot be reconstructed with conventional techniques.

The second study is expected to enroll 20 patients who require either breast implant revision or surgery to correct congenital breast defects. The principal investigator for the second study is Prof. Owen Ung, Director of the Comprehensive Breast Cancer Institute (CBCI), Consultant Breast Surgeon at the Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital and Professor of Surgery at the University of Queensland, Australia.

In both studies, patients will receive porous polycaprolactone implants that are manufactured in Bellaseno's AI-driven additive manufacturing facilities using a non-contact process. This innovative production system was developed in 2021 together with the Fraunhofer Institute for Production Technology IPT (Aachen), funded by the BMBF as part of "KMU-innovativ". Polycaprolactone has been used in healthcare as an absorbable suture material for decades.

After the implants have been inserted in a compressed form using a minimally invasive procedure, the structure unfolds and is then transplanted with the patient's own fat tissue obtained through liposuction. Within up to five years, the polycaprolactone scaffold is completely absorbed and replaced by fat cells, leaving no permanent residue of foreign material in the body. This so-called scaffold-guided tissue reconstruction is a promising alternative to silicone implants or other permanent implants.

"This study is a very important step for us to show that our approach is not only safe, but also results in significant improvements in long-term safety, health and quality of life," said Dr. medical Tobias Grossner, CMO of BellaSeno. "We very much hope that the studies will once again validate our concept of scaffold-supported tissue reconstruction."

“It is important to us that patients have access to healthier alternatives to permanent implants. There is a strong demand for the restoration of a completely natural breast tissue with no potentially risky remnants in the body. We believe that BellaSeno's solutions can play an important role in meeting these needs,” added Prof. Owen Ung, principal investigator of the breast study.

Source: medtech zwo contribution from 04.08.2022


previous news

BIO-Europe 2022 back in presence

From October 24th to 26th, 2022, the international industry meeting BIO-Europe will take place in Leipzig, an up-and-coming biotechnology region in Europe. The on-site conference will be supplemented by a digital part in the following week from November 2nd to 4th, during which a second round of virtual partnering meetings can be arranged and the program can be called up on-demand.

NextNews

dr Jörn-Sven Kühl, stem cell transplant expert at UKL: "ALD should be included in newborn screening"

ALD - adrenoleukodystrophy - is a disease that is as rare as it is insidious. At least 17000 in XNUMX newborns is affected, mostly boys. Undetected and untreated, it usually leads to disability and death. The University Hospital Leipzig (UKL) is one of the few centers in Germany where the disease can be treated in interdisciplinary cooperation, including stem cell transplantation (SCT) and other modern therapeutic approaches.

News
Neues vom BioCity Campus

BellaSeno startet klinische Studien für resorbierbare Brustimplantate

Die BellaSeno GmbH, ein Leipziger Medizintechnikunternehmen, das resorbierbare Scaffolds unter Verwendung additiver Fertigungstechnologien entwickelt, gab heute den Start von zwei klinischen Studien in Australien bekannt. Es geht um Implantate, die Abhilfe bei Trichterbrust (Pectus excavatum) schaffen oder Silikonimplantate ersetzen sollen.

In die erste Studie werden voraussichtlich zehn Patienten mit Pectus excavatum (Trichterbrust) aufgenommen, einer häufigen angeborenen Brustwanddeformität, bei der das Brustbein in den Brustkorb eingesunken ist. Studienleiter ist Dr. Michael Wagels, Direktor des Herston Biofabrication Institute (HBI), Facharzt für plastische und rekonstruktive Chirurgie am Princess Alexandra Hospital, Direktor des Australian Centre for Complex Integrated Surgical Solutions (ACCISS) und Senior Lecturer an der University of Queensland. BellaSeno hat bereits im Jahr 2021 erste Daten am Menschen veröffentlicht, die zeigen, dass das Implantat in der Lage ist, einen Defekt des Pectus excavatum zu kaschieren, der mit herkömmlichen Techniken nicht rekonstruiert werden kann.

In die zweite Studie sollen 20 Patienten aufgenommen werden, die entweder eine Revision des Brustimplantats oder eine Operation zur Korrektur angeborener Brustdefekte benötigen. Studienleiter der zweiten Studie ist Prof. Owen Ung, Direktor des Comprehensive Breast Cancer Institute (CBCI), beratender Brustchirurg am Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital und Professor für Chirurgie an der Universität von Queensland, Australien.

In beiden Studien erhalten die Patientinnen poröse Polycaprolacton-Implantate, die in den KI-gesteuerten additiven Fertigungsanlagen von Bellaseno in einem berührungsfreien Verfahren hergestellt werden. Diese neuartige Produktionsanlage war 2021 gemeinsam mit dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Produktionstechnologie IPT (Aachen) entwickelt worden, gefördert vom BMBF im Rahmen von “KMU-innovativ”. Polycaprolacton wird seit Jahrzehnten im Gesundheitswesen als resorbierbares Nahtmaterial verwendet.

Nachdem die Implantate durch einen minimalinvasiven Eingriff in komprimierter Form eingesetzt wurden, entfaltet sich die Struktur und wird anschließend mit dem durch Fettabsaugung gewonnenen Eigenfettgewebe des Patienten verpflanzt. Innerhalb von bis zu fünf Jahren wird das Polycaprolacton-Gerüst vollständig absorbiert und durch Fettzellen ersetzt, so dass keine dauerhaften Reste von Fremdmaterial im Körper verbleiben. Diese sogenannte gerüstgesteuerte Geweberekonstruktion ist eine vielversprechende Alternative zu Silikonimplantaten oder anderen permanenten Implantaten.

“Diese Studie ist ein sehr wichtiger Schritt für uns, um zu zeigen, dass unser Ansatz nicht nur sicher ist, sondern auch zu erheblichen Verbesserungen in Bezug auf die langfristige Sicherheit, Gesundheit und Lebensqualität führt”, sagte Dr. med. Tobias Grossner, CMO von BellaSeno. “Wir hoffen sehr, dass die Studien unser Konzept der gerüstgestützten Geweberekonstruktion einmal mehr bestätigen.”

“Es ist uns wichtig, dass Patienten Zugang zu gesünderen Alternativen zu permanenten Implantaten haben. Es besteht eine starke Nachfrage nach der Wiederherstellung eines vollständig natürlichen Brustgewebes ohne potenziell riskante Reste im Körper. Wir glauben, dass die Lösungen von BellaSeno eine wichtige Rolle bei der Befriedigung dieser Bedürfnisse spielen können”, fügte Prof. Owen Ung, Studienleiter der Bruststudie, hinzu.

Quelle: medtech zwo Beitrag vom 04.08.2022


Previous News

BIO-Europe 2022 zurück in Präsenz

Vom 24. – 26. Oktober 2022 findet das internationale Branchentreffen BIO-Europe in Leipzig statt, einer aufstrebenden Biotechnologie-Region in Europa. Ergänzt wird die Konferenz vor Ort um einen digitalen Teil in der Folgewoche vom 2 – 4. November, bei dem eine zweite Runde virtueller Partneringmeetings vereinbart werden und Programm on-demand abgerufen werden kann.

Next News

Dr. Jörn-Sven Kühl, Stammzell-Transplantationsexperte des UKL: „ALD sollte ins Neugeborenen-Screening aufgenommen werden“

ALD – Adrenoleukodystrophie – ist eine Krankheit, die so selten wie heimtückisch ist. Mindestens eins von 17000 Neugeborenen ist betroffen, meistens Jungen. Unerkannt und unbehandelt führt sie in aller Regel zu Invalidität und Tod. Das Universitätsklinikum Leipzig (UKL) ist eines der wenigen Zentren in Deutschland, in dem die Erkrankung in interdisziplinärer Zusammenarbeit behandelt werden kann, unter anderem mit Stammzelltransplantation (SCT) und anderen modernen therapeutischen Ansätzen.